Link: UCOP's e-newsletter

Stay Informed. Stay Connected.

Update: UC Tech Awards deadline extended to May 8

Mojgan Amini of UC San Diego inspired a UC Tech Award

The application/nomination process for the UC Tech Awards is open through May 8, 2023Apply now or nominate a colleague by reviewing the UC Tech Awards Background and Application Form and completing the short application.

The UC Tech Awards program celebrates UC employees’ achievements in designing, implementing or managing high-impact technology initiatives that drive digital transformation. It promotes increased engagement in the UC Tech community by recognizing the technology contributions of university faculty and staff across a range of roles, including IT, research, academia and business. Explore the 2022 UC Tech Awards Program winners.

Winners of the 2023 UC Tech Awards Program will be announced at the UC Tech Conference at UC Berkeley on Tuesday, July 18.

Attend an info session

If you’re considering applying or nominating someone for the UC Tech Awards but need more information or have questions, come to an upcoming information session. No advance registration is needed; select the link to open the Zoom session: Thursday, April 27, 8:30-9:15 a.m. (PT).

2023 Tech Awards

The IT Leadership Council will award a gold and silver winner for each of the following awards. Winners are chosen based on the complexity, impact and mission alignment of the work completed by individuals or teams.

Larry L. Sautter Awards for Innovation in Information Technology
Recognize an individual or a team for having implemented an innovative technology initiative that has had a significant impact on the university’s academic/research mission, student life, business operations, patient care or public-service mission. Innovation is defined as the new application of technology, the creative use of limited resources or an emphasis on collaboration to solve a problem.

DEI Leadership Award — New!
Recognizes the leadership of an individual in advancing diversity, equity and inclusion in technical communities, as demonstrated by specific tactics to create vehicles that improve visibility, access and engagement of underrepresented populations. Read the story behind this new award.

IT Security Award
Recognizes an individual or team that has advanced IT security at the University of California through awareness and training, policy, technical controls and/or IT security hygiene. Projects that intersect with legal, privacy and compliance are eligible.

Yvonne Tevis UC Collaboration Award
Recognizes an individual or team that conducted a strong collaborative technology initiative across two or more UC locations, across a UC campus and UC health system and/or with other UC partners.

Mojgan Amini Operational Excellence Award
Recognizes an individual or team that transformed a business process (via reliability, speed, scale, efficiency and/or effectiveness), whether through business process design, automation, customer service, digital transformation or another initiative. Read more about Mojgan Amini.

Design Award
Recognizes an individual or team that transformed one or more touchpoints through the application of various design disciplines (e.g., visual design, interaction design, user experience (UX) design, customer experience (CX) design and/or industrial design to improve usability and/or create a more elegant experience for everyone, including people with disabilities.

Sustained Impact Award
Recognizes an individual who, over time, has contributed significant expertise, passion, and commitment to the university as evidenced by a portfolio of work supporting the technology arena.

To learn about the UC Tech Awards program, please visit the UC Tech Awards website or contact Laurel Skurko.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave your comment here