Link: UCOP's e-newsletter

Stay Informed. Stay Connected.

Last chance to apply for the UC Tech Awards

If you’ve been considering applying or nominating a colleague for the 2024 UC Tech Awards, don’t wait! The application and nomination deadline is May 1, 2024.

Apply now or nominate a colleague by reviewing the UC Tech Awards program description and completing the short application. The categories are as follows:

  • Larry L. Sautter Award for Innovation in Information Technology – Given to an individual or a team for an innovative technology initiative that has significantly impacted the university’s academic/research mission, student life, business operations, patient care, or public service mission. Innovation is defined as the new application of technology, the creative use of limited resources, or an emphasis on collaboration to solve a problem.
  • DEI Leadership Award (for individuals only) – Recognizes an individual’s leadership for advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in technical communities, as demonstrated by specific tactics to create vehicles that improve visibility, access and engagement of underrepresented populations.
  • IT Security Award – Rewards an individual or team that advanced IT security at UC through awareness and training, policy, technical controls, and/or IT security hygiene. Projects that intersect with legal, privacy, and compliance are eligible.
  • Yvonne Tevis UC Collaboration Award – Recognizes an individual or team for conducting a strong collaborative technology initiative across two or more UC locations, across a UC campus and UC health system, and/or with other UC partners.
  • Mojgan A. Amini Operational Excellence Award – Given to an individual or team for transforming a business process (via reliability, speed, scale, efficiency, and/or effectiveness), through business process design, automation, customer service, digital transformation, or another initiative.
  • Design Award – Recognizes an individual or team that transformed one or more touchpoints through the application of various design disciplines (e.g., visual design, interaction design, user experience design, customer experience design and/or industrial design to improve usability and/or create a more elegant experience for everyone, including people with disabilities.
  • Sustained Impact Award (for individuals only) – Celebrates an individual who, over time, has contributed significant expertise, passion, and commitment to the university as evidenced by a portfolio of work supporting the technology arena.

The UC Tech Awards program celebrates UC employees’ achievements in designing, implementing or managing high-impact technology initiatives that drive digital transformation. It promotes increased engagement in the UC Tech community by recognizing the technology contributions of university faculty and staff across many roles, including IT, research, academia and business. Explore the 2023 UC Tech Awards Program winners.

This year’s UC Tech Awards winners will be announced at the UC Tech Conference, taking place Oct. 27 – Oct. 29, 2o24, at UC Davis.

Get a full overview of this year’s awards from the UC IT Blog

Review the UC Tech Awards 2024 Background and Application Form landing page

Submit a proposal for a UC Tech Conference presentation

Have a tech-related program or initiative that you’d like to share with the UC community? Through May 8, you can submit a proposal to present at the 2024 UC Tech Conference at UC Davis. This year’s theme is Collaboration for Transformation. Learn about the proposal process.

For questions, contact


Tags: , ,

Leave your comment here